Merle Haggard – The Bluegrass Sessions


Category: Tag:



The Bluegrass Sessions is an album by American country music singer and songwriter Merle Haggard. This album was released on October 2, 2007 on the McCoury Music and Hag Records.
The bluegrass sessions were recorded in two days of intimate living room style sessions, as Marty Stuart describes in the disc’s liner notes. This release features Haggard backed by an all-star and all-bluegrass cast of musicians that includes such IBMA award winners as fiddler Aubrey Haynie, dobro player Rob Ickes, guitarist and harmony singer Carl Jackson and Alison Krauss.
On its release, The Bluegrass Sessions rocketed to the top of Billboard’s bluegrass album chart, racking up the legend’s highest first-week sales for a new release since 2000, and Merle’s first #1 on any of Billboard’s charts since 1984.
Produced by Ronnie Reno

All songs written by Merle Haggard except where noted.

  1. Runaway Momma
  2. Pray
  3. What Happened?
  4. Jimmie Rodgers Blues
  5. Learning to Live with Myself
  6. Mama’s Hungry Eyes (with Alison Krauss)
  7. I Wonder Where To Find You
  1. Holding Things Together
  2. Big City (Haggard/Dean Holloway)
  3. Momma’s Prayers
  4. Wouldn’t That Be Something (Haggard, Freddy Powers)
  5. Blues Stay Away From Me


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Merle Haggard – The Bluegrass Sessions”